Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Just your average, everyday, impassioned rant. I mean diary entry.
2002-11-05 - 10:01 p.m.


I didn't do too much this afternoon, I sat around, raked leaves, ate Nerds, read my b---

*We now interrupt this normal, boring entry for an impassioned rant by yours truly, Mangofarmer.*

Now being the simple little milquetoast of a person that I am, I generally don't feel too strongly about a lot of things. Along with "I don't know", another one of my catchphrases is "whatever". I have too indecisive and too agreeable a nature to want to argue. I can usually see the good in either side of a situation. I'm mostly a spineless jellyfish. Really.

But this jellyfish does have a very few strong opinions:

-Hot chocolate on a cold day is good.

-A late night trip to Denny's does wonders for the soul.

-The easiest way to find peace within oneself is to look up at the stars.

-The healing power of music is truly extraordinary. Whatever genre you prefer.

-Call me a band geek all you want (I call myself that anyway), but marching band is a good thing. You don't put so much time into an "extracurricular" activity for eight years straight unless it means something.

-"All you need is love." It's simple and stupid but it's true.

-(be prepared to get really mad at this one) The death penalty is wrong. My little sister says this so well: "If everyone believed in an eye for an eye, the whole world would be blind." I'm not quite sure who really has the authority which viable human being lives or dies. Actually, I'm sure: no one. There may have been some choice specimens throughout history that should have been locked into absolute solitary confinement forever and shown pictures of their atrocities 24/7 and maybe been forced to listen to endless muzak featuring the greatest hits of Britney Mandy Jessica Aguilera and the Backstreet 98 degree N'Sync boys (see now I'm really being offensive- that is a touchy issue and I realize also that some people like pop music- I respect that due to my fourth point).

-And now my main point, in honor of Election Day: voting is good. So do it. I realize America is a screwed up place in so many ways and on so many levels. But there are certain ideals that this country was based on that make it great. For example, the freedom to choose which slimy mudball politician gets to sit in a swanky office and play endlessly with those metal balls on strings and occasionally meet up with other slimy mudball politicians to decide which road will get fixed or what cause of the week is going to get money or what to do or not do with their cigars. This freedom to choose, this freedom to pull one stupid lever is absolutely amazing. Yet there are those that say their vote doesn't count, or that each slimy mudball politician is indistinguishable from the other, and that it is useless to ever try and decide which is the lesser evil. No! Every vote counts! It is worth the effort to make an informed decision. Moreso it is worth the effort to make any decision at all. As a woman in particular, I really begin to think about those that endured ridicule, jail, hunger strikes, maybe death, because they thought so strongly that women should be able to vote. To choose which slimy mudball politician sits in the swanky office. It's so simple to pull a few stupid levers, so I think maybe I owe them that once a year.

-It bothers me even more that there are people out there who are very strongly "pro" this, or "anti" that, and they don't vote at all. Maybe they think there won't be a candidate that matches their beliefs. If the variety of third parties in this state is any indication of the rest of the country, I'd have to say there's a good chance these people are wrong. And laziness is not an excuse. If pulling a few levers or checking a few boxes is so strenuous they even let you send votes via snail mail (snail mail- what's that?). I may be as apathetic toward the current political situation as the next jaded twenty-something, but at least I pulled a few levers to try and change it.

The moral of the story? Vote, particularly if you're on the West Coast, since the polls are still open. Useful, I guess. ;) Even for Republicans. I'll forgive you. Or don't vote, I respect that too. Just don't complain about your local slimy mudball politician unless you voted!

Now see I only feel strongly about nine little things. Nine. I'm very sorry if I offended anyone. I totally respect, and am willing to listen to, other beliefs. If you don't vote and you drink hot chocolate in the summertime, more power to you. Just let me have my nine principles in peace. Thank you.

*We now return to the regularly scheduled boring diary entry by yours truly, Mangofarmer.*

-ook, which hasn't gotten any more interesting. I also had quite the conversation with my sister about which is the better word: euphonium or nomenclature. She says euphonium, I say nomenclature. Who knows? She has now resolved to learn all the words in the dictionary that begin with "eu" (see how many you can think of).

My dad asked me what I wanted from Burger King for dinner. It took me a while to decide on the new grilled sourdough burger, which is tiny by the way. Just in case you wanted to know.

But see it is hard for me to decide things. I am an indecisive, spineless jellyfish. Oh well. Goodnight.

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.