Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Books good. November bad.
2002-11-06 - 1:19 p.m.


Well. So I finished "Sons and Lovers". Boring, but worth reading in my opinion. I guess. I am proud of myself for actually finishing a boring but worth reading book. For once. At any rate, this passage caught my attention:

" 'But what do you always want to be kissing and embracing for?' he said. 'Surely there's a time for everything.'

She looked up at him, and the hate came into her eyes.

'Do I always want to be kissing you?' she said.

'Always, even if I come to ask you about the work. I don't want anything to do with love when I'm at work. Work's work---'

'And what is love?' she asked. 'Has it to have special hours?'

'Yes; out of work hours.'

'And you'll regulate it according to Mr. Jordan's closing time?'

'Yes; and according to the freedom from business of any sort.'

'It is only to exist in spare time?'

'That's all, and not always then--- not the kissing sort of love.'

'And that's all you think of it?'

'It's quite enough.' "

Interesting, no? Not that I'm much of an authority on the subject, but the thought of putting time and space limits on love and affection seems pretty silly. Either that, or don't date your co-workers. Cute electronics guys are meant to be eye candy only. ;)

Well, ha. I'm once again feeling an attack of acute boredom and Novemberliness. The looooovely grey sky matches my mood pretty well. I've enjoyed my unwanted little holiday and the thought of going back to work tomorrow is less than appealing. But whatever. The rednecks in this town must by their ugly pants and George Foreman grills somewhere. It's a dirty job, and this someone HAS to do it because she'd have no money and no life otherwise. Not that I have a life anyway, but well, whatever. Perhaps I'm used to that at this point.

Now for a few unrelated points:

-Cookies are good. I wouldn't mind some soon. ;)

-I'm easily demented. And proud. :)

-There's nothing like Halloween candy in February. :D

Thank you. That's all. Maybe I'll go try to be happy now. Or at least go sit on my ass for a while. That is, in fact, always fun. :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.