Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Must relinquish desire for Cherry Coke...
2004-06-19 - 4:31 p.m.


I just finished reading The Bhagavad-Gita.

This quote got to me:

"Better to do one's own duty imperfectly

than to do another man's well;

doing action intrinsic to his being,

a man avoids guilt."

(Pardon my terrible summary- I'm sure I didn't really get the half of this book.) Krishna says not to be a prisoner of action, not to be worried about the end result. To act without desire. To act with discipline. To become in touch with the true self, the power behind all things (Krishna? God? A Higher Power? R2D2? Etc.)

Back to the quote- long story short, what exactly is my duty? Why am I here? Is it my calling to be a rather so-so flute player, or I am supposed to be doing something else entirely?

It's funny. The more you learn, the more you read, the more education you get, the more you realize that you know nothing at all, really.

My brain hurts now. In a good way.

1 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.