Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

All this from the girl with a strange affinity for the work of Dwight D. Eisenhower...
2004-01-01 - 1:34 a.m.


Well. I said to myself I wouldn't do this, but I am feeling suddenly reflective. Possibly because we went to see "Return of the King" for a third time tonight (Mom: "I'm paying to see a movie for the third time in the theater!"). Speaking of which, the part with Eowyn and Aragorn right before he leaves for the Paths of the Dead really got to me this time. And then there she was next to Faramir at the end....

*WARNING: GOOFY PHILOSOPHICAL CRAP AHEAD*

Who was I last year at this time?

Yes, notice I just said "who". I was pretty different then.

(Thank you, Captain Obvious!)

2003 was a long, strange trip through the middle of nowhere. Maybe you've visited there before- endless, stale countryside giving way to one-stoplight towns with nothing in them. You might be seemingly traveling down a road, but you could very well just stay in one place for all it matters.

If you're lucky enough to have a decent map, just maybe you can find an interstate that will take you 65+ mph down the road of possibility. Don't get me wrong, some stretches of interstate are the most boring roads in existence. But there are others that are so beautiful...

For some reason, I was particularly depressed when my mom, who had been visiting, and sister left Craptown in late July. I had half a mind to go shut myself up in my room and cry for a while, which had been my tried-and-true way for coping with most things. But then, I decided I really didn't want to. In fact, I was kind of sick of that.

So I got online, sent an e-mail to the flute teacher in Gradschoolville, and started looking for apartment listings. Such a simple thing, really. I was tired of myself, so I wanted to be somebody else.

(Here I am! Hi!)

Going away to school, as ASS expensive as it has proven to be, was the best thing I could have done for myself.

(Enter Captain Obvious, again.)

The second best thing I've done for myself this year, well, that involves

*WARNING: SCREWY METAPHOR AHEAD*

downsizing a pine forest into a few token bonsai trees. A bonsai tree hurts less when it falls on your head.

Yep. I'll leave that one delightfully unexplained. :)

Why is it that whenever I try to write something serious nowadays it turns out silly, goofy, and, well, happy? I guess that's who 2004 Mangofarmer is.

Que sera sera.

Happy New Year. :)

2 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.