Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Those ugly-ass socks make the baby Jesus cry.
2003-12-17 - 11:27 p.m.


Here is a survey, snatched from Lola:

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Let's see. I touched old lady feet (ah, the joys of retail :-P). I got my own apartment/went to grad school. I got drunk in public on a school night, no less. Heh.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I resolved to stop making resolutions a long time ago.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. No new or exciting states either, well, unless you count the Detroit Airport (hell on earth, of course).

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

A new flute, maybe. Perhaps some nice boy. I dunno.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

August 13- first day of grad school.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Going to grad school. Getting a 4.0. :)

9. What was your biggest failure?

Going to school in August instead of January.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Just a little cold here or there.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A bottle of Smirnoff?

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Peter Jackson?

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Gee Dubya.

14. Where did most of your money go?

CDs, movies, books, bills, and then rent, when applicable.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Going to football games, playing in ensembles again, having my own place (after a while).

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

"Gollum's song"

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

Happier.

ii. thinner or fatter?

Thinner.

iii. richer or poorer?

Oh so very much poorer.....

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

I wish I could have saved more money, when I had it.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Being depressed, especially over one thing in particular.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I'll probably be seeing all my relatives, most unfortunately.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

With a person? No. With a place? Yes.

23. How many one night stands?

Hahahahaha!

24. What was your favourite TV programme?

Friends

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Well, I wouldn't say I hate anyone.. really besides Bitchy McEvil, but that was before 2003, but I am getting less and less fond of my family. Or perhaps I'm just getting less and less naive.

26. What was the best book you read?

Damn. This is tough. I actually read a lot of good stuff this year. I think The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath hit me where I lived.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Rimsky-Korsakov - "Capriccio Espagnol", the Ibert flute concerto

28. What did you want and get?

A chance at happiness.

29. What did you want and not get?

Ehhhhh. Nevermind.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

TTT, X2, Reloaded, etc. You name it, if its geeky, I loved it.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Hung out with my mom and sister- went to Ruby Tuesday's, saw Seabiscuit. After they left, got really lonely and depressed as I didn't know anyone yet in Gradschoolville. 23 years old.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

No comment.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

Outside of work at Sizz-ears or later teaching flute lessons, I lived in jeans, t-shirts, and sneakers.

34. What kept you sane?

Music.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Cast of LotR.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

How about the stupid dumbass useless war?

37. Who did you miss?

My dad. My cat. A select few others.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Other Flute Graduate Student.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.

There comes a point when you have to realize that A) you can sit around and whine and complain and wallow in your problems or B) you, and only YOU, can kick yourself in the ass and do something about them. Here is the oxymoron of the century: mental health is all in your mind. Go figure that one out.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

"Running over the same old ground

What have we found

The same old fears.

Wish you were here."

***********

Well that was fun. But you know what is more fun? Walking around the toy aisle of the Hickville Wallyworld saying this:

"All this materialistic crap makes the baby Jesus cry! Jesus wants you to celebrate Festivus this year...... ooooh, Care Bears! Wait a minute, these aren't real Care Bears!"

Hahahahahaha. I saw highly fake My Little Ponies too. Whatever. Wallyworld is obviously evil. And so is American society. I think this is because "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is never on anymore. Yup. Instead, the networks suddenly think "The Wizard of Oz" is a Christmas movie. I mean, come on, Kansas farmgirl runs away from the family that loves her and gets a pair of ruby slippers? SHOES, for Ben & Jerry's sake. Shoes that are supposed to make everything better. Call me a jaded poorer than dirt ex-shoe schmuck, but really. Ridiculousnessosity.

Um, well, don't mind me. I am no longer making sense. As usual. Have a lovely night all! :)

3 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.