Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

My name is Geek. Band Geek. I like my nachos shaken, not stirred. With hot peppers.
2003-03-13 - 6:53 p.m.


Work today was rather crummy, mostly because I was wearing my hurty shoes and I had a gazllion boxes of ugly old granny shoes to put away and looking at ugly, yet comfortable, granny shoes when you are wearing less ugly, but exceedingly uncomfortable normal shoes has a tendency of putting one in a bad mood. Yes. As does getting three boxes of big heavy shoes down off the top shelf for a customer who does not buy any of them. Grrr. I might make a sign, to put up somewhere in Shoetopia, that goes something like this: "You make me get something down off the top shelf, you buy it! Or climb the fucking ladder to put it back yourself, bitch, because the poor little shoe schmuck does not enjoy heights. Have a nice day!" Retail sucks sometimes. Remind me not to wear my hurty shoes tomorrow.

But (but but BUT!), lo and behold, what did I find when I got home?

MY 2000-2001 MARCHING BAND CD!!!!

I think I might have looked something like a seal when I sat down here and put it in the CD-rom drive- you know, rocking back and forth, clapping my hands together. Hopping up and down a little bit. Generally acting like a huuuuuuge geek. But that's okay, because

AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! MY MARCHING BAND CD!!!!!!!!!!

*does happy dance once again*

Pardon my geekiness. It's just amazing how something can become so meaningful to you if you let it. Not only was I basically dragged to band camp freshman year kicking and screaming (yeah yeah yeah, I didn't know about the combination of flutes and band camp yet, har de har har har :-P), but I was basically dragged to that school kicked and screaming. After the first full day of band camp (which was also my 18th birthday), not only did I want to quit band, I wanted to transfer schools. I hated it! It all seemed so pointless- doing nothing else than play for football games? Where were the band competitions I'd grown to love in high school? And the people! They were all so... what's the word... loud? I dunno.

But I shuffled through it. Wait for the first game I told myself. After all, I was not a quitter. I was not a quitter up to that point in my life anyway, haha.

Obviously, I'm glad I did. That first day, I thought college band lacked meaning. But I discovered that it meant so much more than I thought. More than early Saturday practices and drunken football fans. More even than nachos at every game for four years.

So what did it mean to me? I dunno. What does peanut butter mean to jelly?

Heh. Enough senseless gushing. I'm just a happy little Mangofarmer right about now, that's all. Anyway, I'm not really feeling motivated to read Austen right now, or in the near future. Just not my thing. I feel guilty about putting another book in the "started but never finished pile". But not that guilty. I'm sure I have plenty of interesting stuff to read. I should also take tcklyrpharsn's advice and go practice flute. That would be a good thing. Mmmyes.

That's all for now. Have a lovely evening. :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.