Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

The Geek List
2003-02-03 - 9:59 p.m.


For your reading pleasure, I would now like to make a list. This list should hereby prove, that I, Sarah, a.k.a. Mangofarmer, am a big giant geek.

1) Soon after I was born, I had to have a CT scan because the doctor was worried that my head was too big for my neck to hold up. Obviously, the larger size of my brain has been noticeable from day one.

2) When I was very young, I would sit in my highchair and eat any number of raw vegetables babies wouldn't normally eat. Cheerios were never for me. I preferred raw potato slices. I still do.

3) The only trophy I ever won was for a spelling bee. As is the only commemorative plaque in my possesion. I knew how to spell "lieu" in seventh grade. I once was very angry because I only got a 105% instead of a 110% on a spelling test, which I blamed on the improper pronunciation of "linguistics" by the girl who was announcing one of the five point bonus words for that test.

4) I was indeed always picked last in gym class. In fifth grade, on warm days sometimes the class would go outside and play kickball. One day, my best friend and I were picked to be the team captains. All the "popular" kids were begging to be on her team. She ended up picking most of them. My team won, even though I tried to evade being tagged out by running a very large loop around second base.

5) The thing I remember most about the one time I did play an organized sport (seventh grade soccer) was the fact that I would always order the two cheeseburgers extra value meal at whatever fast food establishment we'd eat at after the game. Sometimes I'd get an apple pie.

6) I was on the honor roll every semester from sixth through twelfth grades, and was on the dean's list every semester of college. I would give the free Big Mac slips from honor roll to my dad. Big Macs don't compare to apple pies.

7) I got into those Who's Who books. I actually bought those Who's Who books.

8) I tried to read "War and Peace" twice. In middle school. But I kept falling asleep during the war parts. So I read "Jane Eyre" and "Wuthering Heights" instead. I just finished "The Tenant of Wildfell Hall" this afternoon. Therefore I have read at least one book by each of the Bronte sisters. I am very proud of this fact.

9) I remember more details about the day I picked up a flute for the first time than I do about the junior prom.

10) I was in marching band for eight years. All of high school and all of college. I particpated in several fundraisers for HS band, in which a pair of band members would dress up in their uniforms and stand outside a grocery store or Wallyworld and solicit donations. I was very proud of the coffee cans I decorated for these purposes. Before the last competition in high school, I participated in dressing up with the other band geeks. The girls wore their hair in pigtails. Everyone wore the shoulder braid from their uniform on their arms like an armband. We wore our Dinkles, the ugliest of ugly marching band shoes. To top it all off, we each wore two signs. On front: "Band geeks?" On back: "You're not undefeated!" (our band was having a good year). When we lost that competition, I cried like a little baby. When we lost the last competition my senior year, I cried like a little baby, mostly because the band had a terrible year, but also because I was sorely disappointed that my mom was not there to witness me in my full band geek glory. Yet, interestingly enough, I never cried like a baby after any of the "lasts" (game, etc.) in college band. I only cried like a little baby, six months after the fact, when I was sitting at home listening to my marching band CD and realizing that it was the most meaningful experience of my life and I must have blinked because those four years flew by. There's nothing like a sad, drunk band geek who's not in band anymore. That's geeky if anything else is. Oh, and my favorite line of the song "American Pie" is of course "the marching band refused to yield".

11) Not only have I been known to headbang to "Bohemian Rhapsody", a la Wayne and Garth from "Wayne's World" fame, I have also been known to headbang to the Spice Girls' "Wannabe".

12) I own the "Star Wars" soundtrack boxed set.

13) I have watched "The Lord of the Rings" approximately 297492749283 times. I have seen "The Two Towers" four times in the theater, and think this is an impossibly small number that I desperately need to remedy.

14) I have an annoying habit of staring at maps for hours on end. I never go anywhere. I don't even have a driver's license.

15) I don't have a driver's license. For no good reason.

16) In elementary school, when traveling with my family, I once wrote down every exit (number, town, and route) off of a 700+ mile stretch of interstate.

17) In college, I took an English History class, that wasn't even the period in history I was interested in, that had three required papers (which I loathe) as a fun elective.

18) I miss college so much I wish I could be writing a paper right now.

19) I've come up with many excuses to get out of parties/shindigs/get togethers/etc. over the years. Many a time, I really wanted to stay home to watch something important on the television.

20) I never really learned to roller skate, which was quite the cool thing to do here in elementary and middle school. I once had to be taken back to a friend's house (she was having a sleepover) with her much younger brother and sister, because I didn't know how to skate. And I cried like a little baby.

21) In second grade, a class discussion ended up on the subject of pizza. When I heard the word "pizza", I loudly said "Mmmmmmmmm!" and rubbed my stomach. Everyone laughed.

22) I majored in music in college. Cool people did not major in music, unless maybe it was music industry. I have a t-shirt with musician jokes for every instrument on it.

23) Nowadays, I spend way too much time on the computer. Especially Diaryland.

24) I kept all of those little final exam review books from high school, because I thought I might need them again someday. Even the math ones. HAHAHA.

25) In elementary school, I was known as "human dictionary", "walking encyclopedia", and "brain". I've also been called "schoolgirl" and "that smart one".

26) I just spent an hour making a list of things that make me geeky. If I were to sit here all day, I'm sure I could come up with many, many more.

There you have it. I am certainly a geek. Coming soon, a list of reasons why I am a big giant loser.

Ugh. Work tomorrow. Maybe I should go to bed at a reasonable hour. Maybe not. Goodnight. :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.