Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

"I had a dream last night, do do do doot doot doot do doo!"
2003-04-27 - 9:27 a.m.


OOOOooooooOOOOOOoooooHHHHhhhhh! Sorry to be annoying and write about another dream, but this one was absolutely rife with symbolism and stuff. Rife, I say!

Okay, I was dreaming that I was invited to go with a pep band from school to play at an away football game (since this is a football pep band for the purposes of an away game, it is not evil, as basketball pep band is evil). For some reason, the other school's marching band didn't show up till almost halftime, so we had to do most of the playing. But the problem was, nobody knew the music and there was no conductor, and there were barely 10 or 12 people in our band there anyway. The funny thing was, we didn't end up playing the national anthem until in between the first and second quarters, and I was embarrassed because I stunk so bad, because I realized that I've played the national anthem a gazillion times. But everyone else stunk worse, especially the two piccolo players next to me- one of whom was a girl from my high school (who obviously did not attend my alma mater and never touched a band instrument in her life, but that's besides the point- this is a dream).

So anyway, halftime comes along, the other band shows up, so we go down into one of the locker rooms (!) to go rehearse. They decided to rehearse a lot of pep band songs that I clearly didn't know, so they asked me to conduct. "Gimme some lovin'" comes up. I'm like, I know this, duh! So I start conducting really fast, because I knew the pep band plays it faster than marching band does. But it was too fast. Then I slowed way down, to sub-marching band tempo. Still no good. Deeming myself a failure, I went over and started putting overheads of music on the overhead projector (weird), because then (SYMBOLISM HERE!) the mean office lady from Sears starts trying to conduct- I don't know the proper name of this- "My Guy"? (Whoopi Goldberg's character leads the nuns in singing this in "Sister Act", I do know that much).

Naturally she is messing up all over the place, as she is looking at the screen and conducting backwards, and not looking at the band anyway. Besides the fact that she has not one iota of musical talent anyway. So then I tell her to step aside and continue conducting and everyone was happy and it started sounding like actual music.

A good dream, no? Werk for stupid hours today, 11:30-3:15. Starting at 1:00, there will be three people working in Shoetopia. Sheer stupidity, I say, because we're going to be standing there staring at each other. Oh well.

Hehehehehehe. I haven't had a band geekish dream in such a long time. :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.