Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Now, that's what I call crap!
2003-12-13 - 2:34 p.m.


Here are some recent realizations of mine:

-Today's popular music is all crap. By today I mean "Now that's what I call crap 983264928374" or whichever new volume just came out. I do concede that some of it is less crappy than the rest. Maybe. But even so, current popular music lacks any kind of inherent meaning that will make it valuable to later generations. Remember, this is an opinion from a music geek.

-Campus is freakishly quiet when no one is here.

-The middle school students that I teach were born in the 90s. As in, 1990 or afterwards. Weird.

-As a result of my making "magical mint kiss" cookies (chocolate cookies with a melted mint kiss in the middle), I have resolved to make inside-out peanut butter cup cookies (pb cookies with a melted regular kiss in the middle). Brilliant, I know.

-I am going to stop getting my hopes up about getting gigs. While yes, there may be hundreds of churches in Gradschoolville that pay bling-bling money, they simply do not want me to play in them.

That's about it in terms of realizations. I have resolved to finish Living History this weekend. Hillary rules. She mentioned a good point some world leader or another had made about the problems inherent in the creation of a homogenous mass culture. Yugoslavia anyone? I mean, really. My sister said that one day she was wearing this goofy "Ukrainian-American Pride" shirt, and her history teacher said that kind of division by national origin or whatnot was wrong- basically we should all go buy American flag stickers for the bumpers of our SUVs and blindly support every move the president makes simply because he's an "elected" official, blah blah blah blah. I wonder what Mrs. Headupherass McHistoryteacher would think if she heard that my sister doesn't know more than a few token words of Ukrainian because our dad didn't want to become fluent in the language and didn't want to ever become immersed in his culture because that there were no Ukrainians on Leave it to Beaver! A melting pot can be a beautiful thing if it brings its ingredients together without letting them lose their flavor.

Wow. Where the Detroit did all that come from? Do you see what happens? I'm only out of class a few days before my brain goes into overload for no reason. Once a geek, always a geek. :)

Speaking of geeks, I think it's Chili's for dinner tonight with whichever music geeks are left in town. Good stuff.

I really should go practice.... hmmm. Meh. The library is only open till five today. I have to get my internet time after all. :)

Happy Saturday everyone!

2 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.