Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

The story of why Mangofarmer is Ukrainian, or why the moon is made of dried green peas and cabbage.
2003-12-09 - 1:10 p.m.


Obviously I am writing in my diary, since I am supposed to be preparing for my presentation on Ukrainian folk songs tomorrow.

Obviously.

*begin diatribe on lack of university-level Ukrainian Studies programs in the United States*

So lots of Ukrainians live in places in Canada like Manitoba and Saskatchewan and the North Pole and what have you. That's fine. But lots of Ukrainians live in Craptown and Bumblefuck too!

(People in Gradschoolville have never heard of Ukrainians. Silly Gradschoolvillians.)

So I propose that the community college in Craptown give me a job teaching Ukrainianisms when I graduate here. I could teach them the several words I know in Ukrainian: bread, goodnight, goodbye, "Christ is Risen", "Indeed He is Risen" (I went to church once upon a time a gazillion years ago so that's the only reason I know those), "cabbage brigade", and "bucket of paint". I could teach the preparation of that delectable green slop they call kapusta. I could explain the difference between pierogies a la Mrs. T's (in your grocer's freezer) and pierohy. I could show the class examples of pretty pysanky, and say "Wouldn't it be nice if I knew how to make those?" The rest of the class would be spent in the formation of a rock band called the Cabbage Brigade.

(Who would play what in this band? Who has dibs on the balalaika?)

Hmmmm. If I run for president under the Ukrainian National Mangoist Party, who would vote for me? I'll take a show of hands please.

*crickets*

The Cabbage is Risen! Indeed he is Risen!

Okay I'm going now.... really.....

Have a lovely day all. :)

4 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.