Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Mit uber uber super de duper schmaltz
2003-09-12 - 6:17 p.m.


Pickle jar update (see previous entry), or why I am destined for the convent: after a week of trying, I opened the damn jar and did indeed have a pickle with my turkey sandwich.

Anywho, Mrs. Pushy Flute Mom left me a message this afternoon. So it looks like I may indeed have a flute student very soon. Eeek! Egads! And other such interjections beginning with 'e'! Yeah. But money is good. Money is very very good. I should pass around a collection plate in wind ensemble on Monday, for the "Buy Sarah a Plane Ticket Home for Fall Break" fund. That, or I could pick a nice corner, set my flute case out, and start playing... Jenn-of-the-granny-car tells me that it is important to put a bill or two in your case beforehand, otherwise people will just give you change. Good to know, I think. :)

Well, what the heck I'm I going to do with myself this weekend? No football and... no football make Sarah a dull girl. And it's not like Bumblefuck football is going to be on TV in Gradschoolville. Damn. I guess I have to use that time to practice or something. Gih.

Have I mentioned how much I love playing in orchestra? Even though Gliere might have been on lots of crack when he wrote the piccolo part to "Russian Sailor's Dance", in playing it today I had one of those passing revelations that really make life worthwhile sometimes:

Music makes me so happy.

*happy contented sigh of goofiness and schmaltz*

("Schmaltz" is an important musical term, of course.)

Yeah. Moments like those make you forget about the three million people who are better than you and the three people that held you back in undergrad and the three decades (times two) that it's going to take for you to pay off your graduate loans and realize, that you make music, and that is a joy and privilege above all things.

*schmaltz ad infinitum*

Well, I'd continue, but thankfully I just lost my train of thought, so I won't. Have a splendiferous weekend all. :)

4 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.