Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Concert, and a happy tape
2003-05-09 - 10:37 p.m.


Your Ultimate Purity Score Is...
CategoryYour Score Average
Self-Lovin'86.7%
Never taken out of the packaging
62%
Shamelessness97.6%
Has yet to see self in mirror
77.1%
Sex Drive 100%
75.3%
Straightness98.2%
Just go fuck something, okay?
40.7%
Gayness 100%
80%
Fucking Sick97.3%
Refreshingly normal
88.2%
You are 94.12% pure
Average Score: 69.9%

Oh dear. Well, I went to the chamber orchestra concert tonight. Most of the music they played definitely should have had three flute parts. They played the Intermezzo from Kodaly's "Hary Janos" Suite. Yes, one of the pieces I played in my first concert in college orchestra. Yes, I played the first part and fucked up the solo a wee bit, but I swear, I still sounded better than the old lady, who has been in the orchestra for a million years, did tonight. Inherently wrong, this is. And really, how did they play that piece without a cembalum (sp?) (stringed instrument played kind of like a dulcimer). They had something weird going on, but it was no cembalum. I feel special for knowing what a cembalum is. Hehehehe.

They also played the first movement of the Beethoven 5. Dammit.

But the theme of the concert was "Sousa at the Symphony". So of course, all the old people there, who slept peacefully through the Beethoven, the Kodaly, and Tchaikovsky's "Eugene Onegin" waltz (during which the second flute obviously kept switching between flute and picc- grrrrrr), woke up and persisted in clapping loudly throughout the four marches they played, actually yelling when they were over, and loudly commenting next to me, over and over, "Now that's good music!" Being the classical music snob that I am, I wanted to say "Look Grandma, you wouldn't know good music if it bit you in your very large, flabby ass", but I did not. Alas, I guess I lost my chance to bring a cultural revolution to the elderly folks of Craptown. Oh well.

I do admit, I do enjoy hearing "The Stars and Stripes Forever" every once in a while. But no one stood up as they were playing! Not the two (most noticeably once again *not* three) piccolo players (cue another old person quote: "Hyuk, hyuk, who's playing the fife?"). Also not the brass players. How very disappointing. Even Bitchy McEvil stands up when the symphony plays it on the Fourth of July.

So that was the exciting concert. This morning I braved Wallyworld. A sheet set and some shower curtain rings makes for a good shower present, right? It does now, dammit. I hate those stupid things. When I make up my mind who exactly I will be marrying in Vegas (Clay Aiken or Joaquin Phoenix, naturally), I will have no part in such silliness. Blech.

Other than that, I have not accomplished a great deal today. So, without further ado (especially since I forgot to put this list in the envelope- oops!), this is for Nicole:

Side A

Lynyrd Skynyrd - "Sweet Home Alabama"

Counting Crows - "Mr. Jones"

Bryan Adams - "Summer of '69"

Green Day - "Longview"

Soggy Bottom Boys - "In the Jailhouse Now"

Lauryn Hill - "Doo Wop (That Thing)"

Beatles - "Octopus's Garden"

Mamas and the Papas - "California Dreamin'"

Dashboard Confessional - "Again I go unnoticed"

Big Bad Voodoo Daddy - "You and me and the bottle makes 3 tonight (baby)"

Guns 'N Roses - "Sweet Child O' Mine"

Lit - "My own worst enemy"

Creedence Clearwater Revival - "Travelin' Band"

Side B

Norman Greenbaum - "Spirit in the Sky"

Madonna - "Like a Prayer"

"Chicago" soundtrack - Overture/"All that jazz"

Jim Croce - "Bad, Bad Leroy Brown"

Third Eye Blind - "Semi-Charmed Life"

Three Dog Night - "Joy to the world"

Weezer - "Buddy Holly"

Green Day - "Basket Case"

Beatles - "Ob la di, ob la da"

Spice Girls - "Wannabe"

Guns 'N Roses - "Paradise City"

Hehe, you asked for it. Enjoy. :)

*******

Name that tune again, if you would like. Otherwise, have a lovely evening everyone. :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.