Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Flute = good. Yeah. That is all the math I need.
2003-04-26 - 6:52 p.m.


Hee. I'm listening to the CD of my senior flute recital, mostly because I made Andrew listen to some of it. Yay for AIM get/send file. :)

It's weird. It's been over a year since the recital, and I can probably count the number of times I've listened to the CD on one hand. I guess listening to it only reminded me of what an emotional wreck I was that day. My dad flat out refused to go to my senior recital (note: a big deal), because he was "too tired", so I did nothing but snap at people the entire day. Combine the guilt I was feeling at being such a snot, the expected exhaustion, and of course the negative comments of such a "supportive" teacher as Bitchy McEvil, and I came home and cried for three hours straight out of frustration and wretchedness.

That, and all I could do for so long was nitpick, only focusing on each tiny(and not so tiny) technical mistake and not hear it for what it was- 45 minutes of music that was so clearly, well, me. I love every single one of these pieces. And I played them like I loved them. And that is all that matters.

All I need to do now is snap out of this fuzzy reminiscent haze and reconnect who I was: a flute player who played like I loved it and got into three good graduate programs because of that, with who I am now: a flute player who has forgotten all of that and who is slowly getting pulled into the soul-sucking vortex that is retail. Good things are out there. Really.

So yeah. I need a virtual kick in the ass or two or six. I need to re-apply to the Grad School, find housing in Grad School-burg, and practice.

Positive affirmation helps sometimes. Unfortunately feelings of positivity never last very long. So, I'm going to go watch the end of "Friends", practice, and then sit on my ass and eagerly await another stupid boring pointless lonely empty weekend night. Woo to the hoo.

Yes, I'm going to shut up now. :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.