Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

My name is Geek. Band Geek.
2003-01-09 - 6:25 p.m.


Ok. I had a revelation. I was practicing flute earlier, just some silly easy Devienne sonata, when I realized something. At that instant I was truly happy. Music is what I HAVE to do. Not that I didn't think this in music school, but in revelation form, it's just much more satisfying. And makes more sense. As Laura was telling me, it shouldn't have to matter if I'm good or not, playing the flute makes me truly happy and that's all that's important. After all, I've got my dumpster residence of choice all lined up. :)

Five minutes later the state of euphoria ended when I looked down at my flute and realized that the pads are moldy! Granted I've had the thing for six years and it has never been completely repadded, but still. I feel like a bad mother. I feel like the National Flute Association is going to send in a SWAT team to confiscate my flute and haul me off to some kind of jail for band geeks, where I'm be punished by being forced to polish trumpets all day. Oops! I guess I didn't say any of that.

It smells like burnt water in here, if that's possible. I'm not the greatest cook in the world (aside from my amazing cornbread and my kick-ass chicken jambalaya and my wonderful key lime pie and excellent cookies.... ok I lied, I am somewhat of a good cook), but I do know how to boil water!

Hmmm. I guess that's all I have to say for right now. Some people are goofballs. That being said, I would like to leave you with a little song. Janis Joplin is my hero, just so you know:

*****************

Oh Lord, won't you buy me/A golden Powell flute!/My friends all have Hayneses/They've got lots of loot!/Worked hard on my pract'cin'/To my lessons I scoot!/So Lord, won't you buy me/A golden Powell flute!

Oh Lord, won't you buy me/A wooden picc'lo!/The Boston Symphony/Needs me in their next show!/I like those high notes/So I'm ready to go!/So Lord, won't you buy me/A wooden picc'lo!

Oh Lord, won't you buy me/A spot in the BSO!/I know they really need me/Playin picc'lo!/I've packed up my Yankees cap/So on the train I go!/So Lord, won't you buy me/A spot in the BSO!

Everybody!

Oh Lord, won't you buy me/A golden Powell flute!/My friends all have Hayneses/They've got lots of loot!/Worked hard on my pract'cin'/To my lessons I scoot!/So Lord, won't you buy me/A golden Powell flute!

That's it!

*******************

Thank you. The geek has left the building.

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.