Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

The banishment of joy, indeed
2002-12-07 - 7:01 p.m.


Do you know what's a good movie? "Restoration". Robert Downey Jr., whatever else you may say about him, is an excellent actor. And I love this movie. The music makes me happy too. Baroque music that isn't boring!

Well, I haven't been motivated to do much of anything besides watch novies on TV all afternoon. There's nothing like the occasional estrogen-filled double header of "Fried Green Tomatoes" and "A League of Their Own". And then "Restoration", which is simply a beautiful movie. Pretty things make me happy- like this silly picture of the mountain laurel on the top of the page here. A silly picture on a computer screen is a poor substitute for the real thing, however.

I guess I feel defeated in a way. By depression, or more likely by myself. I went to the store to get Christmas cards, and I wandered around, looking at all the wrapping paper and plastic toys and Russell Stover boxed candies and for the life of me I couldn't find a meaning to any of it. Christmastime usually brings me such joy, as a "holiday season", it's usually a much looked-forward-to time to rest and be with your family. I can't help feeling like I don't deserve such joy anymore. Maybe it's silly. No, it is very silly. I do actually get tired of whining all the time, although you might think otherwise if you read my silly babble regularly. I'm just so tired of being alone. I'm just a big baby and it's a cop-out for me not to make important decisions by myself. But I can't help but wondering if I had had a friendly ear and a friendly face around all the time, someone that I could whine to in person, maybe even a shoulder to cry on or a hand to hold along the way, I'd be less miserable? If someone really understood. If someone noticed.

But there again is the losing battle. It is entirely wrong to blame anyone else for my melancholic state of mind or my mistakes. I always was an outsider, even when I was part of a group. Call it shyness if you will. Whatever it is, it was always hard for me to warm up enough to people to make friends. The resulting attachment once the actual "warming-up" occurred becomes all the more painful when it is broken on the other end. And it is not anyone's fault- it's just human nature to gravitate towards the curious, the interesting, the bright lights, the shiny and new. If anything it is probably my fault for not being any of those things. Or is it still another defeat to even blame myself? Am I completely self-absorbed to sit and wallow in my misery anyway?

Well, I'm going to go watch the rest of this movie and stop thinking out loud. I'm making my head hurt. Stupid pointless weekend off.

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.