Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

There was an old woman who needed a shoe, and Sarah was expected to get it, too
2002-11-12 - 8:09 p.m.


I had a nice entry all written earlier but Diaryland ate it. Oh well. Tonight I have a few random points and comments:

-The "Soup Nazi" episode of Seinfeld was on tonight. Now don't get me wrong, I absolutely despise that show. If the four most annoying people on the planet were captured from the wild that is Long GUY-land and sent to live in NYC to do the most annoying things, it would not even come close to the annoyingness factor of that show. But I don't mind that episode. That's right, Jerry Seinfeld you pompous ape, "no soup for you!"

-I upgraded my Kazaa and it ate my mammoth playlist. I guess I could create a new playlist, but that would take too much effort. I'll just have to listen to my songs in all the wrong order. If "Sweet Dreams" comes after "Black Velvet" instead of before it, the world will probably explode. I guess we'll just have to see.

-My dad hates "Bohemian Rhapsody". And he's not too keen on "American Pie" either. That is wrong on so many levels. He had good taste in music once. Too much elevator jazz messes with your brain I guess.

-"THE MARCHING BAND REFUSED TO YIELD!!!" Sorry, just had to throw that in there. :)

-Work was fairly uneventful. Working in shoes this morning wasn't that traumatic- no climbing the ladder whatsoever. Phew. But I was yelled at by this old man who told me to find his wife some shoes with velcro on them. As this is not 1985, I didn't have any and got all panicky and paged the friendly manager girl. Of course this was after I did my best and found an ugly pair of slip-ons for the lady to try. I had to basically shove the shoe on her foot of course. Her nasty swollen old lady foot. Her socks were covered with some kind of dandruffy material. It was disgusting. So I let the manager girl take care of them after that. I hope I'm never that helpless when I'm old that I have to let a salesperson pick out my shoes. Even the manager girl suggested that we send the lady home with a pair of gaudy Nikes. Retail is such fun! :-P At the grocery store I just stood there and asked the old ladies "Do you want your milk in a bag?" and "Is that credit or debit?" I didn't have to shove shoes on their feet.

-I think tomorrow I'm going to cave and apply for the goddamn Sears card. But thankfully I only have to work 5:15-9. NOT in shoes.

Well that's about the story of my life as it stands right now. Next I think I'll read "Watership Down". Never read it- is it good? I finished reading "The Secret Garden" on my lunch break. Arguably, my all-time favorite. This might be why:

"One of the strange things about living in the world is that it is only now and then one is quite sure one is going to live forever and ever and ever. One knows it sometimes when one gets up at the tender solemn dawn-time and goes out and stands alone and throw's one's head far back and looks up and up and watches the pale sky slowly changing and flushing and marvelous unknown things happening until the East almost makes one cry out and one's heart stands still at the strange unchanging majesty of the rising of the sun- which has been happening every morning for thousands and thousands and thousands of years. One knows it then for a moment or so. And one knows it sometimes when one stands by oneself in a wood at sunset and the mysterious deep gold stillness slanting through and under the branches seems to be saying slowly again and again something one cannot quite hear, however much one tries. Then sometimes the immense quiet of the dark blue at night with millions of stars waiting and watching makes one sure; and sometimes a sound of far-off music makes it true; and sometimes a look in some one's eyes."

Nice.


What band instrument are you?

brought to you by Quizilla You are a flute. Not usually heard unless you are the only one playing (talking). You still do fantasize sometimes about what can be DONE with a flute... :-P

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.