Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Yeah so I hate my life. Everyone does. What's so special about me?
2002-09-26 - 3:55 p.m.


I have the utmost respect for the retail industry. My mom is in retail. And I shop, don't I? But I just can't see how staring at a computer for 15 hours of training in preparation for a seasonal job that will pay 36 cents less an hour than the shithole grocery store will improve me greatly as a person. Sears is having some kind of sale this weekend, and the time I spent behind the register was taken over by crabby, clueless old ladies who knew nothing else except that they had a Sears card in 1973 so therefore they still have one now.

I don't even know what the hell I'm talking about. The point is, it's my third day and I absolutely despise it. I was basically on the verge of A) tears B) a panic attack or C) a full-scale nervous breakdown the whole time I was there today. I suppose I should suck it up and grow up- as my mom said, this temporary job is only a "means to an end". But I know there are other places hiring around town, and I'll bet if I went groveling back to the grocery store they'd even take me back. My trouble is I've always been way too sensitive for my own good- I'm the definitive example of a "shrinking violet". I just haven't wanted to go back to the grocery store because that would be a sign of public failure. They had to be all nosy and ask why I had to leave when I did. All the regular customers were the same way. I had to say something. I couldn't say that no, I'm not going to school this semester because being cooped up here all summer and dealing with you morons has made me insane! Small store though, I guess... I should accept the brand of failure and humiliation and go back there. It may be better than the stress of Sears.

It's not that I can't handle stress. In fact, throughout my college career I thrived on the last minute exhilaration of staying up all night and finishing a paper at 7am, only to rush around getting ready for a full day of classes, beginning at 8:30. See that was good stress, because it was a "means to an end" that had meaning for me- a degree, an education, blah blah blah. But the thought of learning this entire computer-operated register system only to leave in three months, well, does not compute.

Surely I should quit, if I'm going to, while I'm still training, so I don't start to mess with the schedules of others. Right?

God I'm pathetic. The month and a half I spent sitting on my ass, mired down in misery and self-pity, can't have been good. Perhaps I should become a mango-farming hermit on Tahiti now. Or I should just take my flute and set up residence in a nice dumpster in the nearest large city. I should accept that all I'll end up doing with my life is to be a flute-playing bum on a street corner.

*sigh*

I'm so sorry to go on and on like this. I just like to think of this diary as a place to vent my frustrations? misery? pain? in relation to my silly little life. I need happy thoughts. Or pie. Or a hug. I wish either that my friends weren't so far away, period, or that I could magically become less boring so they'd have a good enough reason to come see me.

Well now I'm off to go away and hide. :(

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.