Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Notes
Guestbook
Rings
Email
Host
Designs

RECENT ENTRIES


Diaryversary. What what now?
OMG! Diaryland! Aren't you cute?
Mind the gap.
Oh hai, part deux.
Oh hai.

2007 Booklist
2006 Booklist
2005 Booklist
2004 Booklist
The bestest people on earth!
Basketball is EVIL
Mangofarmer saves TV!
Just another day in the neighborhood
Things that are good and things that are bad
New and Improved! 107 facts
cast
Trading card
Diaryrings A-J
Diaryrings L-Z
Strange google hits
mangosurvey
mangosurvey2
mangosurvey3
mangosurvey4
mangosurvey5
mangosurvey6
mangosurvey7
mangosurvey8
mangosurvey9
mangorama
mangomango
mangogoogoo
mangofest
mangoshake
mangopuke
mangorita
mangolassi
mamamamango

mangoognam
Ooooooh baby, randomize me!

Can I get a witness, sister Mangofarmer?
2002-09-21 - 12:14 a.m.


I got a free mix CD one time a few years ago when I bought some clothes from American Eagle (now don't worry, I don't do that often- my sister yells and says their clothes are too "preppy", but whatever), and one of the songs on there was by a band called XTC ( a drug popular in the 80s ;) ). Maybe someone has heard of them- I know I hadn't, but of course, I haven't listened to much popular music since ninth grade or so. Not that anything on that CD is probably "popular" in any sense of the word now...

Anyway! It was kind of a catchy little tune. "I'm stupidly happy, with idiot grin..." Of course, I was sitting around moping and sighing that it's Friday night and I have nothing to do, but when I put on my new CCR CD (I always think of Creedence Clearwater Revival as related to the way my mom announces that abbreviation in a big booming voice... well I guess you'd have to hear it to understand it ;) ), I had a very idiotic grin on my face indeed. My shopping-induced hyperactivity having worn off, I mellowed to a state of toe-tapping silliness. I couldn't understand half of what John Fogerty was saying, but hey, that's fine. I could never get much from Kurt Cobain either.

So what's my point here? I guess some very nice notes in my guestbook have led me to... wait....

*We now interrupt this piece of somewhat intelligent writing with silly Mangofarmer complaining about her loserliness again.*

My neighbor across the street just pulled in her driveway. A 60+ year old retired kindergarten teacher stays out later on Friday night than I do. No, what I meant to say was, A 60+ YEAR OLD RETIRED KINDERGARTEN TEACHER GOES OUT ON FRIDAY NIGHT AND I, A 20 SOMETHING NEW COLLEGE GRADUATE, DON'T!

*Thank you*

Anyway, back to the sermon. ;) I firmly believe that with music, to each his own, all the way. Whatever makes you "stupidly happy", even if it is Britney Spears. Maybe it's just that music has just been such an indelible part of my being since, well, forever, that I just can't imagine others not to have a similar passion.

Like I said earlier, I blame my taste in music on my parents. I never said that was a bad thing. My happiest childhood memories revolve around music. When I was five or six we lived in a big, beautiful house. During thunderstorms, we'd turn off all the lights (and most importantly, the TV!), and my mom, dad, and I (no little sis yet) would curl up on the couch, listen to records of various classical symphonies and chamber works, and just watch the thunderstorm through the big living room window. My favorite at the time was always the Beethoven 5.

*grins idiotically*

When I was a little older and we moved here, we eventually got a CD player and my parents greatly expanded their collection. I was always so excited to be able to pick out a CD to listen to at dinner. I was always fascinated by the names- The Beatles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Simon and Garfunkel, Iron Butterfly, Fleetwood Mac, The Eagles, Crosby, Stills, and Nash, The Moody Blues... and the list goes on. Eventually some of their CDs became "mine"... hehehe.

*still grinning*

Of course, when I was younger, I was also fascinated with MTV and VH1. And other sources. Again, when I was really little, I'd get up at 4AM or whenever (apparently my internal clock was set for it) to watch "Night Flight" (music videos) on the USA channel. I remember mainly the Eurythmics and Aerosmith with Run DMC.

*giggle*

Don't even get me started and the day I picked up a flute for the first time...or the day I joined marching band... those are whole 'nother stories. But at any rate I went through the whole popular music thing. I thought the first of the newer (fake) Woodstock Festivals was the coolest thing. I listened to the popular radio station. In fact, in college, my dad would drive me in to school most everyday, as campus is only a few minutes from his office downtown. For the first year or so we listened to that station, mainly in the morning to catch the radio show everyone listened to at the time.

But in the afternoons, my dad began to put on the classic rock station. I resisted this at first. Sure, they began to play the same songs over and over, but that was THE station you were supposed to listen to. Then my dad turned to the classic rock station in the mornings too. I'm sure I missed Britney and N'Sync.... or NOT... but I discovered Janis Joplin, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, Led Zepellin, Lynyrd Skynyrd.... and the old favorites from the old dinnertime custom of music (this tradition has been discontinued for obvious reasons). And the rest is history. I must now have grown similar tastes as my dad, because, hehe, I keep stealing his CDs. Pink Floyd "Echoes" and the "O Brother, Where art Thou?" soundtrack are two examples. :)

*grins contentedly*

So what is the moral of this LOOOOOOONG-winded spiel? Never let me talk this long on any one subject. Also to have an Altoid because you, yes YOU, are in need of one. And to find the music that makes you "stupidly happy" and play it over and over until the cat chews through the Venetian blinds, jumps on your head, and starts clawing your eyes out. Amen. :)

Disclaimer: If any of the information presented in this big giant fest-o-b.s. leads one to believe that I, Mangofarmer, am a dork, geek, or loser in any way, then I would have to agree with said information. It's doubtful that I've ever been cool in my entire life, and I freely admit this to you all. Now I may go to bed before I hurt myself or inflict any more pain upon the world. G'night! :)

0 comments

previous - next

100 Books Club 100 Books Club

Days until Bush leaves office.
Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.
Grab your own copy here.